Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » sex drive is shot

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: sex drive is shot
EliotDorian
Activist
Member # 37752

Icon 1 posted      Profile for EliotDorian     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I don't remember the last time I was aroused. I have spent over a year in celibacy (except for one time I kissed an older man who had a girlfriend, and everything about that relationship is inappropriate). And normally I'd just masturbate, but I haven't been up for that either, lately. My self-esteem has taken a nosedive since I got my master's degree - I'm 23 and still financially dependent on my parents and celibate. I am in no position to move out until I find a job, and I'm sick of the metropolitan area where I live. I live out in the suburbs instead of the city center, or even the inner suburbs. I depend on a car, and now I only have that a little less than half the time (I do not want to suggest to my folks to buy a new car, it would go against everything I stand for.). I am busy with some paid tutoring and an unpaid internship, which gets me out, but it's still not a real job. I see all around me people that are younger than I am who are moving out or moving in with boyfriends or girlfriends or getting married. And heck, people half my age pose questions here about sex. I'm not saying I envy them, but it really drives home this idea that EVERYBODY'S HAVING SEX EXCEPT FOR ME. And I can't even masturbate. It's frustrating, and coupled with my pseudo-unemployment and lack of money and lack of independence, I hate it. I keep fearing that every job I apply for will turn me down, that every man I'm attracted to will ignore me, that I'll never get to have anything nice or do anything I'd hoped to accomplish. I just don't know what to do. I'm stressed and