Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » How Do I Tell My Parents?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How Do I Tell My Parents?
Sore Throat
Neophyte
Member # 35705

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Sore Throat     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Okay, so I've established now that I am definitely a transgender male, but now I need to know how I should tell my parents this.

I just turned sixteen this past week and I'm a sophomore in high school.
Over the summer I thought and misread my confusion and discomfort but (obvious attraction to women)as being a lesbian. I finally got the courage to tell my parents that I was gay.

My mom tried to take it well, but I think over all she took it okay, but my dad was definitely fine with it. He said he just wanted me to be a good person.

I told my sister that I was a transgender male and she said that I shouldn't tell my parents because I had already caused enough drama as it was.

The thing is, even though I know nothing is going to happen now because I'm high school but I really wanted to start taking hormones as soon as I graduated high school and look into getting top surgery.
Every day it just seems to get worse and worse. I am so stressed and depressed, and some times I'll just start crying or getting angry for no real reason, and my emotions are just extremely bipolar because of all this distress.
I have gotten five hours of sleep in the last five days and I hadn't eaten anything since Friday evening, but I ate something earlier today.