Donate Now

my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » READ-ONLY ARCHIVE » General Health & Nutrition » Easy healthy food

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Easy healthy food
Blue Roses
Activist
Member # 9928

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Blue Roses     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm staying on campus over the summer, and for the first two weeks, we have to fend for ourselves as far as food goes. We have a microwave adn fridge, and that's it. I'm a fairly good cook, but I'm not used to dealing without a stove or oven. Anyone have good tips for healthy stuff you can make in a microwave without resorting to variations on prepackaged carbohydrates? (I'm also trying to be vegetarian) Prepackaged stuff tends to have so much salt and fat, and it can be sort of expensive. So far I'm going with pb&j's, cereal, and the healthier of the canned soups. I'll also get some fruit and baby carrots and such once I get the fridge set up.
Posts: 105 | From: Bryn Mawr, PA, USA | Registered: Sep 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Milke
Activist
Member # 961

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Milke     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Get thee some instant rice, pasta, rice noodles, potatoes, oatmeal, flour tortillas, canned beans and veggies, peanut butter, soy sauce, hot sauce (if you like it), and taco seasoning mix. Salsa and cheese if you like them.

Riceandbeans - Boil about two cups of water, toss is as much instant rice, cook until done. Add a can of drained beans (black is good, but any kind works), and the taco seasoning, stir it all up. Serve wrapped in a tortilla with cheese, or all by itself, or as a side dish.