Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » LGBTQA Relationships » Sheltered

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Sheltered
twiceagainyesterday
Neophyte
Member # 11180

Icon 1 posted      Profile for twiceagainyesterday     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I figure this is the best forum for this.

Now, I came out as a bisexual to my mom a little while ago. Since then, she has made it clear that I am not to participate in any gay activities (including going to GLBT youth support groups, founding a GSA at my school, etc. etc.), come out to anyone else, or date other females until I am at university (I am a freshman in highschool.)The reasons she gave was my protection (which I understand, but my understanding stops because she thinks that university is a haven of safety for GLBT people), was worrying if my homophobic father would find out, and worrying if anyone would recognize me (eps. kids from my father's work, who have only seen me once in their entire lives)

I do not want to go around her orders in any case, but how should I go and try to convince her that I feel that it is necessary for me to discuss this with and be around other GLBT people?

Posts: 23 | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How about including her at first?

Is there a PFLAG meeting near you? Maybe the next town over so SHE can feel a little more secure?

Really, there is a reason suicide rates among GLBT youth are escalated, and some of that has to do with what you're describinng. I'm not suggesting you say that exactly, but impressing upon her the importance of you getting some community seems key here.