Donate Now
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » COMMUNITY ANNOUNCEMENTS & HELPS » Staff Stuff » I want to donate, but...

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I want to donate, but...
No Longer New To This
Neophyte
Member # 39160

Icon 1 posted      Profile for No Longer New To This     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello! I used to go by Very New To This-- But that was more than a year ago. In that time, Scarleteen has been an invaluable source of information for me. I read articles on here all the time and have learned a lot. I grew up with shoddy abstinence-only 'education' that mocked condoms at least once and gave me all sorts of wrong impressions about what sex was.

Now I'm a sexually active college student, confident in my sexuality, and not afraid or confused any more. I've donated thirty dollars to Scarleteen at various times in the past, but I want to keep supporting you guys and the fantastic work you do.

So when I earned two hundred dollars by winning a scholastic award, my first thought was, 'I should donate all of this to Scarleteen!', or to some other charity, since I support(ed) many.

The problem is? The donations I used to make were before I was paying bills, worrying about a mortgage, cooking my own meals, and thinking about tuition and rainy day money. My parents provide all of my non-scholarship support and forbid me from getting a job, lest it impact my studies. According to all sense, I should save this two hundred dollars for groceries or even a bicycle to get me places since I don't have a car.

And yet.