Excessive exercise and missed period?

Questions and discussions about your bodies and their parts.
spotteddog
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: My eyes change color
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: Straight

Excessive exercise and missed period?

Unread post by spotteddog »

I am a 15 year old distance runner, about 150 pounds usually and 5’7. I have a decent amount of muscle and fat, but not an insane amount. My bmi is around 23% I believe? I’ve been running for around 3 years, with injuries sending me out occasionally. My cycles are sometimes regular, but range still. My past few have been 33, 38, 25, 32, 33 days in order from oldest to newest. I started tracking in late January because I was late but I am not sure how long I was late for. Before, I had been cross training due to a stress fracture, but I had started a 2 month half marathon training plan beginning of January until February. All summer I have been doing cross country conditioning, and the real season started last week, kicking my ass.

The real reason for this post is because I am going on cycle day 44, and I last had sex about 15 days ago. I plan on getting a pregnancy test when I can, but I am wondering if the lateness could be normal due to my age and such strenuous exercise? We practice every day and go pretty high intensity with long distance, sprints, hills, weights (personally), etc and veryyyy few rest days.

We did use a condom, but he came inside of it and kept going after cumming in it. Frankly I don’t know if it broke or not, I just know I’m 8-9 days late and feeling very nervous about it. I’ve been late by a few days before, but never this much. I will get tested, but I am still curious if anyone knows if strenuous exercise but having a higher healthy bmi and moderate fat levels can cause irregularities. Thanks!
al
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I make zines!
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queer

Re: Excessive exercise and missed period?