Weight gain and physical/mental health

Questions and discussions about your bodies and their parts.
Atonement
not a newbie
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Cis-gender woman, Hetero

Weight gain and physical/mental health

Unread post by Atonement »

Hey, everyone.

I know I’ve posted about this before, and I hope I’m not repeating myself, but I need to talk to someone and make some decisions.

When I left my parent’s house for college in 2012, I was probably about 145. When I started my school program in August 2014, I weighed about 165 pounds. Now, 2 months after graduating, I’m up to 193. I thought that things would stabilize for me after I graduated, started working and got rid of all the stress, but I’ve been working for a month now and I’ve gained 4 pounds since graduating.

So, basically, I’ve gained almost 30 pounds in the last year and a half, and 50 lbs in the last 4 years.

I’m really starting to become concerned about the rising numbers. Every time I reach a new weight, I think “Oh, this is OK, just as long as you don’t gain any more.” But, the fact is, my weight is steadily increasing and I feel like I have absolutely no control over it. It’s already been somewhat difficult to find clothes that fit, and I just have this overwhelming terror that I can NOT allow myself to get to 200.

I’ve done myfitness pal twice over the last 5 years or so, and both times it resulted in me having a major meltdown and then binging and gaining back more weight than I originally started with in a quick period of time. I started weight watchers this morning and I’m already terrified that it’s going to happen again, and if I should even risk it. I’m already feeling the sadness, deprivation and obsession with everything I put in my mouth that comes with dieting for me.