Side effects of the pill

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
TessaQueen
Awesomeness Quotient: Tenacious
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: Heterosexual

Side effects of the pill

Unread post by TessaQueen »

Hey there,

So I'm still very new to the pill. I'm just about to complete my second month. The first month was OK, experienced sore boob's and got my period within the time period 4 days into the inactive pills. Symptoms were mild and bearable.

On this second month however I've begun to experience symptoms I didn't on the first month. This second month I've had more bloating, upset stomach, mood swings, nausea, sensitive nipples and sore boob's, etc. There were days building up to my period that every time I ate I didn't feel so great. Once I got my period, on the 3rd day of the inactive pills, the blood was brown. The next day it returned to a normal red, but the period has gotten lighter very quickly, so by day 4 of my bleeding I've barely seen any bleeding.

I admit I've had unprotected sex with my boyfriend, however even when we've done such things we've used the pull out method. Most other times we've used a condom. So while I'm a little nervous, I know the chances of me being pregnant are slim. I even went to my doctor and asked her about these things and she said it was normal.

My real question is after a little backstory, is what are some irregular and regular symptoms one might experience in their first months of the pill? The sensitive nipples symptom is one not listed but one I'm experiencing.

Thankyou
Jacob
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Pronouns: They

Re: Side effects of the pill

Unread post by Jacob »

Hi Tessa,

Welcome to Scarleteen! If your doctor has said that these things are due to your pill, then that sounds about right!