Therapy

If it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, this is probably the place for it.
bgrace20
not a newbie

Therapy

Unread post by bgrace20 »

Hi there,
I really didn't know where to put this, and the last thing I want to do is waste your time so if this topic is out of your realm of resources, let me know and I completely understand. The reason that I come here is that typically you give a lot of good information and you might know where to redirect me.
I've always struggled with anxiety and panics, but lately it's gotten so much worse. I have obsessive thoughts that keep me up and night and I can never do anything without thinking them. I would love to reach out to someone and get professional help but the fact is that I cannot afford it. I'm a college student barely paying my way through, my brother is attending a very expensive private school and my parents are barely making ends meet. We have health insurance but with a high deductible.
I have tried going to my school's counselor but she started to CRY during our session so I am not comfortable at all returning there. I have also approached my mom asking if she could help me get help and she responded with "We really don't have the money. Also, maybe if you had Jesus you wouldn't be feeling this way."
So I'm really at a loss. I feel like I can't live inside my own head anymore and I just don't know where to turn. If you know of any resources, or could brainstorm any ideas with me I would appreciate it so, so much. Thank you
Ashleah
previous staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: "I'm a woman phenomenally"
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/Her
Sexual identity: Straight

Re: Therapy

Unread post by Ashleah »

Hi Bgrace,

First I'd just like to let you know how much I admire that you are taking such an active role in your mental healthcare and well being, even when you are not getting much support.