Talk show

Questions and discussion about sex and sexuality in political or community beliefs, principles, actions, policies, experiences, messages and media.
pianolover
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I am easy to talk to
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her

Talk show

Unread post by pianolover »

I understand I'm not a professional and well fully aware of how I identify sexually and non sexually but I'm working on it. And I'm sure so many other people are figuring it out too. I've been wanting to do a talk show on my local radio show about sex,intimacy,healthy relationships, etc. Or a blog, soundcloud, etc. Any tips on starting one? or how to maintain a healthy mind while I create my content.
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queery-queer-queer

Re: Talk show

Unread post by Heather »

When I'm starting a big new project, I'm a fan of starting a log or journal for it, or some other kind of system where I can start writing down all of my thoughts and ideas, making some deadlines and doing other scheduling, collecting outside inspo, the works. I also tend to pick up a few books about whatever the kind of project is I am doing and really sink in on research for a while. Generally I find if I don't find doing the homework exciting -- if I lose interest there -- it's a good sign I need to change up my plans.

It sounds like one big thing you need to do is to figure out what medium you want to do it in: radio or podcasting is very different than blogging, and ask for very different things. Ideally, it should be pretty easy to stay in a good mindset when you're doing a creative project you want to do: a lot of managing any stress with this kind of thing is just making sure you do it in ways that really work for you, uniquely.