how to cope

Questions and discussions about gender, gender roles and identity.
phantomdog
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: i'm a biology researcher!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: he / him
Sexual identity: bi

how to cope

Unread post by phantomdog »

hello!

for some background, i'm a transgender male and my partner is a cisgender gay male. he's a very affirmative and loving partner and my gender identity has never been a big deal at all, so we never really talk about it. we've been together for a couple months now.

however, my gender identity creates problems for myself and how i see myself. i've realized that being with a cis male partner has created relationship dysphoria as i call it, because i feel "not male enough" in contrast to him and it's impacting my own concept of self (which is amplified due to a mental illness i deal with that often likes messing with my perception of self and identity). i'm not questioning - i know i'm a trans male, but the think is i don't feel male in the sense of how i stand against him. i doubt this is something he has even thought of and i know none of this is caused by anything he did, it's just the usual trans stuff i suppose. i was wondering if anyone has any tips in alleviating this dysphoria and helping me feel less ugh. thank you!
Sam W
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: I raise carnivorous plants
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: queer

Re: how to cope

Unread post by Sam W »

Hi Phantomdog,