Why am I being so weird about Birth Control?

Questions and discussion about contraception, safer sex, STIs, sexual healthcare and other sexual health issues.
Atonement
not a newbie
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Cis-gender woman, Hetero

Why am I being so weird about Birth Control?

Unread post by Atonement »

So, I have been using the Nuvaring since January 2013, when it was first covered by my insurance.

Throughout my time on it, it had been GREAT. Periods were reduced to basically spotting that didn't negatively impact my life at all.

However, one year ago I went to a gynecologist who informed me that the way I was using the Nuvaring (4 weeks in, switch, 4 weeks in, switch, 3 weeks in, period) was wrong. I had been using it this way at the recommendation of a previous gynecologist. Honestly, even though her reasons that this might be ineffective don't make sense to me (If people usually take it out for a week anyway, how could using it for 4 weeks make it ineffective?), it scared the crap out of me.

I considered the Implanon, but this gynecologist advised me against it because “It tends to make cycles irregular and people don't like it” and encouraged me to get an IUD instead.

After debating for a long time, I decided to get a Paraguard IUD and continue to use the nuvaring to control my cycles (plus, double protection! Yay!). I had it inserted on Feb 2.

Paraguard has not been a good experience. The first month I bled constantly and took so many NSAIDs I was afraid I ws going to give myself an ulcer.

After taking out the Nuvaring for a week and having a withdrawal bleed, I had 9 glorious cramp and blood free days where I thought this was going to be ok. Then it came back last week. Cramping, bleeding, leaking onto clothes, and occasionally this awful sensation of something poking my cervix from the inside.